Our Awards

The Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research is home to many of the world’s leading researchers who go above and beyond to bring practical results from the bench top to the bedside.

Congratulations to all of the Ingham Institute’s researchers for their hard work and dedication in delivering breakthrough medical research that helps the Institute improve the health and wellbeing of all Australians and create hope through health research.

Centre for Applied Nursing Research
Maree Johnson: Named finalist in the Australian Education Publishing Awards 2012 in the Tertiary Education category; Research methods and Nursing in Midwifery: Pathways to evidence-based practice, Melbourne: Oxford University Press

Samuel Lapkin: Best Research Higher Degree Student Publication Award, Faculty of Health, University of Newcastle.

Palliative Care
Meera Agar: Received the Early Career Researcher Award from the European Association for Palliative Care.



Pancreatic Cancer Research Group
Minote Apte: Recipient of the Frank Brooks Memorial Lecture awarded by the American Pancreatic Association (APA), November, 2012.



 Translational Cancer Research Group- Psycho-Oncology
Afaf Girgis: Received Australia’s first Psycho-Oncology Award at the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia conference in November, 2012.


Centre for Research, Evidence Management and Surveillance
Bin Jalaluddin: Health Built Environments Program in which REMS is an active collaborator received the Cutting Edge Research and Teaching Award from the Planning Institute for Australia, NSW Division.



Collaboration for Cancer Outcomes Research and Evaluation (CCORE)
Michael Barton: 2012 Medical Oncology Group of Australia (MOGA)-Novartis Oncology Cancer Achievement Award. The award was presented in Brisbane on Friday 10 August, 2012, nominated for Professor Barton’s recognised research activities, valued commitment to MOGA research projects such as the Workforce Study and radiation oncology workforce issues dedicated to improving the training of young medical oncologists and important work of influencing policy at a governmental level.

Shalini Vinod and Jesmin Shafiq: Best of the best poster presentation “Timelines in lung cancer diagnosis and treatment at South West Sydney” at the 39th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA), Brisbane, 13-15 November 2012.

Centre for Health Equity Training Research and Evaluation
Emma Friesen: Second Prize is Soft Technology Award from the Australian Rehabilitation and Assistive Technology Association (ARATA), for work into Building Capacity in Primary and Community Health.

Centre for Medical Radiation Physics, University of Wollongong
Antony Espinoza: Winner of Jordanov’s Award and Phelps Education Grant Award from IEEE NPSS for Magic Plate for HDR brachytherapy QA Instrument.

Whitlam Orthopaedic Research Centre WORC
Ian Harris: Received Research Award from the Australian Orthopaedic Association.

Antibiotic Resistance and Mobile Elements Group (ARMEG)
Iain Gosbell: 2013 Identifying Resistance Award for recognition of outstanding career achievements in the field of identification of bacterial resistance to antimicrobials in a clinical setting. This project will develop new detergents which more efficiently clean hospitals. This will increase hospital safety by decreasing infections, thus saving lives and healthcare costs.