Oncology Clinical Trials Unit

The Oncology Clinical Trials Unit (CTU) of the Division of Cancer Services has been operating since July 1993 within the Cancer Therapy Centres of Liverpool, Campbelltown, Braeside and Bankstown Hospitals. The Radiation Oncology, Medical Oncology, Palliative Medicine, Haematology as well as associated surgical and allied health services are encapsulated within these facilities, providing integrated cancer care to the South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD) which provides cancer services to a population of over one million people in South Western Sydney.

The CTU works with research partners, such as Cancer Institute NSW, NHMRC, pharmaceutical companies and UNSW and UWS to develop and improve cancer treatments. There are currently 10 funded clinical trials staff positions within the unit. Further to this, the CTU is currently actively involved in both cooperative group and physician initiated studies as well as industry sponsored studies, with the aim of improving cancer care and providing access for the patients of SWSLHD to newly developed treatment modalities and the best treatment options available internationally, within the carefully supervised context of clinical trials.

Group Leader:
Dr Michael Harvey
View Profile