Academic Unit of Infant, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

About AUCS

Professor Valsamma Eapen heads the Academic Unit of Infant, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry operating through the School of Psychiatry, UNSW Australia and the South Western Sydney Local Health District.

Currently research is being conducted on a number of childhood disorders including Tourette Syndrome, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), anxiety, depression etc. There is also an ongoing program of research involving perinatal anxiety and depression and a particular component on Adult Separation Anxiety Disorder (ASAD) and its impact on maternal and infant outcomes.

Another area of focus is mental health morbidity in adolescents and specifically research on metabolic syndrome and related side effects of second generation antipsychotics.


The Unit's research covers aetiology (both biological and environmental), epidemiology, clinical intervention and outcomes. The research is funded from multiple sources including research councils, government bodies and non-governmental agencies such as Rotary grant plural. The unit has collaborative links with Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit (PRTU), and Schizophrenia Research Unit (SRU) at Liverpool (UNSW), Community Paediatrics (SWSLHD), Department of Psychology and Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) (UNSW). There are research partnerships with Karitane, and KU Marcia Burgess Autism Specific Early Learning and Care Centre (ASELCC). Strong links are maintained with basic neuroscience research units such as Macquarie Centre for Cognitive Neuroscience (MACS – at Macquarie University) to allow translational research as well as community services and initiatives such as 'beyondblue', 'Headspace' and Juvenile Justice.


The Unit's teaching focuses on both, undergraduate and post graduate students as well as supervision of research, at undergraduate level through Independent Learning Project (ILP) Scheme for medical students at UNSW as well as supervision of Masters and PhD students at various universities.

Group Leader:
Professor Valsamma Eapen
View Profile